Welcome to the Rpoints Forums.
+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 18 of 18
  1. #11
    Moderator IceKay@Rpoints
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Rpoints Leicester Office
    Posts
    1,088
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by _ST_
    Quote Originally Posted by IceKay@Rpoints
    My brother bought this laptop memory and is currently using it in his dell laptop along with his existing 1gb memory!!
    Does your Brother own a Vostro 1000 though? As that's the issue here. There are DELL laptops that will take this memory but the Vostro 1000 is not one.
    Yes he does

  2. #12
    Rpoints Elite Imoutofherefornow
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    5,257
    Rep Power
    0
    Not a bad deal for £27 then

  3. #13
    Contributor Ryder
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    160
    Rep Power
    0
    I have a Dell 1520 - would this work in my laptop too ?

  4. #14
    Expert _ST_
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    4,770
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by IceKay@Rpoints
    Quote Originally Posted by _ST_
    Quote Originally Posted by IceKay@Rpoints
    My brother bought this laptop memory and is currently using it in his dell laptop along with his existing 1gb memory!!
    Does your Brother own a Vostro 1000 though? As that's the issue here. There are DELL laptops that will take this memory but the Vostro 1000 is not one.
    Yes he does
    So, as an Rpoints Computer Forum Moderator you are (in essence) advising people that (via your 'Brothers' possible warranty voiding actions) it's OK to go ahead and put this RAM in even though DELL, Crucial other leading memory suppliers advise against it.

    Quote Originally Posted by Ryder
    I have a Dell 1520 - would this work in my laptop?
    Yes, it will work fine in the 1520. You can have up to 4GB.

  5. #15
    Rpoints Elite Imoutofherefornow
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    5,257
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by _ST_
    Quote Originally Posted by IceKay@Rpoints
    Quote Originally Posted by _ST_
    Quote Originally Posted by IceKay@Rpoints
    My brother bought this laptop memory and is currently using it in his dell laptop along with his existing 1gb memory!!
    Does your Brother own a Vostro 1000 though? As that's the issue here. There are DELL laptops that will take this memory but the Vostro 1000 is not one.
    Yes he does
    So, as an Rpoints Computer Forum Moderator you are (in essence) advising people that (via your 'Brothers' possible warranty voiding actions) it's OK to go ahead and put this RAM in even though DELL, Crucial other leading memory suppliers advise against it.
    If the bloody thing works why would you be lose your warranty.

    Sticking a 2 gig ram will not void your warranty. (Thats why you can stick more in it)

    Just get over that you maybe wrong this time I checked with a guy at dell and he says it will work fine.

  6. #16
    Expert _ST_
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    4,770
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Phil
    If the bloody thing works why would you be lose your warranty.

    Sticking a 2 gig ram will not void your warranty.
    An example: Should the laptop fail under warranty and the user return it then DELL may well frown upon the fact that someone has added more than their suggested max memory which could lead to warranty issues. To avoid this it means that everyone that upgrades to 2GB will need to keep the original 1GB stick in case of returns. However, it would be very easy to forget the memory swap under the stress of an item failure needing immediate return.

    Quote Originally Posted by Phil
    Just get over that you maybe wrong this time
    I'm simply quoting DELL the manufacturer of the product. If the info is wrong then they are wrong. Although my main concern here is that an Rpoints representative is seemingly supporting this act of rebellion with no kind of disclaimer.

  7. #17
    Moderator IceKay@Rpoints
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Rpoints Leicester Office
    Posts
    1,088
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by _ST_
    Quote Originally Posted by IceKay@Rpoints
    Quote Originally Posted by _ST_
    Quote Originally Posted by IceKay@Rpoints
    My brother bought this laptop memory and is currently using it in his dell laptop along with his existing 1gb memory!!
    Does your Brother own a Vostro 1000 though? As that's the issue here. There are DELL laptops that will take this memory but the Vostro 1000 is not one.
    Yes he does
    So, as an Rpoints Computer Forum Moderator you are (in essence) advising people that (via your 'Brothers' possible warranty voiding actions) it's OK to go ahead and put this RAM in even though DELL, Crucial other leading memory suppliers advise against it.
    I'm not advising anybody to void their warranty, I'm just proving your statement wrong.

    I work for the NHS as an IT Engineer and we buy all our computer needs from dell, I rang up my contact in Dell and asked him the question and he said although the Dell 'website' advises the Vostro 1000 can only take upto 2gb max memory, however adding more wont affect the laptop and it will work fine.

    There is no physical way to show you have voided the warranty by adding more memory, thats just plain ridiculous.

    Finally, show me evidence that adding more memory than stated will void the warranty !

  8. #18
    Moderator IceKay@Rpoints
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Rpoints Leicester Office
    Posts
    1,088
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by _ST_
    I'm simply quoting DELL the manufacturer of the product. If the info is wrong then they are wrong. Although my main concern here is that an Rpoints representative is seemingly supporting this act of rebellion with no kind of disclaimer.
    If that comment is referring to me i suggest you seriously read all my posts in this thread, at no point did i suggest people should go out and buy this memory and void the warranty of the laptop ( as you put it ), i clearly stated that adding this 2gb memory will work as my brother is using it, period.


 

Similar Threads

  1. Kingston 2GB / 667MHz / PC5300 DDR2 / Laptop Memory £13.49 Del @ Play
    By IceKay@Rpoints in forum Computers & software
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 18th April 2009, 11:20 AM
  2. Kingston 2GB SD Memory Card
    By Rodney in forum Electrical and electronics
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 3rd November 2007, 02:22 PM
  3. Kingston ValueRAM - PC Memory - 1 GB, £14.99 + £1.99 del
    By 41hardwick in forum Computers & software
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 16th October 2007, 07:27 PM
  4. 1GB Kingston 667mhz DDR2 SODIMM (Laptop Memory) - £14.99
    By Imoutofherefornow in forum Computers & software
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 15th October 2007, 03:34 PM
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 6th October 2007, 12:06 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts