Welcome to the Rpoints Forums.
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 20 1 2 3 11 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 200
  1. #1
    Member schlongers
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    33
    Rep Power
    0

    Zavvi Direct - Have I been scammed?

    I've just purchased a Wii Fit from zavvi direct and I paid through protx.

    http://www.zavvidirect.com/default.asp

    I thought they were an affiliate/sister company of zavvi (Virgin Megastore's new name) but a little digging revealed that they're an independant company based in Brighton.

    Are they legit? Will I get my Wii Fit?

    Can anyone advise?

    Thanx Rpointers!

  2. #2
    Enthusiast bad_bob00
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    1,826
    Rep Power
    0
    Not too sure if they are safe or not. Found this link with someone asking the same question: http://answers.yahoo.com/question/in...6043611AAvpGGr

    How did you pay for your item?

    Also the site is using ppc advertising on Google, which costs to do, so they may be legit, but then again they could be spending money simply to gain more customers (perhaps ripping them off too?).
    Click my WWW to find out about the best ways of making money online!

  3. #3
    Enthusiast bad_bob00
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    1,826
    Rep Power
    0
    More info on their site/company here:
    http://whois.domaintools.com/zavvi-direct.co.uk

    The domain is registered to an individual although they appear to be operating as a company.
    Click my WWW to find out about the best ways of making money online!

  4. #4
    Junior Member Gaspode
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Derby
    Posts
    11
    Rep Power
    0
    I've bought things from several retailers that use Protx - never had any problems, so you should be o.k.
    Ostende mihi pecuniam!

  5. #5
    Contributor wolvesinwales
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    176
    Rep Power
    0
    A search around shows a lot are wary of them and i cant see anyone actually receiving anything from them BUT a lot of people have got in touch with Protx and had a refund so if i was you i would be onto them straight away.

  6. #6
    Expert angst
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    4,391
    Rep Power
    0
    You are protected if you paid by credit card and the company fail to deliver suitable goods.Payment by debit card are at risk

  7. #7
    Enthusiast mamaflump has much to be proud of mamaflump has much to be proud of mamaflump has much to be proud of mamaflump has much to be proud of mamaflump has much to be proud of mamaflump has much to be proud of mamaflump has much to be proud of mamaflump has much to be proud of mamaflump has much to be proud of
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Sunny Scunny
    Posts
    1,356
    Awards Member of the Month March 2012 Member of the Month May 2012 Member of the Month Feb 2012 Member of the Month October 2011 Member of the Month September 2011
    Rep Power
    52
    Ah no i didnt order from that one sorry.

    I hope you get this sorted and dont end up out of pocket

  8. #8
    Contributor Alikat
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    437
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by angst
    You are protected if you paid by credit card and the company fail to deliver suitable goods.Payment by debit card are at risk
    If it's a visa debit, you should also be covered, but must apply with something like eight weeks, cant remembe exact time, but googling it should find more info.

  9. #9
    Member schlongers
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    33
    Rep Power
    0
    Well I'll wait for the 21 days then I'll let you all know wether zavvidirect are either:
    legit and Wii Fit's are in stock or
    they're not legit and if I've been refunded in full or not

    Thanx for your comments Rpointers!

  10. #10
    Member pmyring2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    56
    Rep Power
    0
    Their contact address,20 Old Steine, Brighton, East Sussex, BN1 1EL is shared with quite a few other businesses. It Googles as Pavillion Business Centre, possibly just an office/accommodation address.

    Seeing as the site was only registered on 20th March 2008 and the fact that a lot of the wording on the site has been directly copied from other websites (how many UK companies use the word "catalog" with that spelling ?) I would be very wary of parting with any money.

    Just my thoughts.


 
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 20 1 2 3 11 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Zavvi: £2 off £20
    By pabenny in forum Voucher codes
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11th June 2010, 11:29 AM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12th September 2007, 11:44 AM
  3. Buy Electrical Direct: Best Priced Electricals from be-direct
    By maya in forum Electrical and electronics
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10th September 2007, 03:44 PM
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 24th July 2007, 11:24 AM
  5. ING Direct: The world's leading direct savings bank
    By richard@ in forum Other offers
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 7th January 2005, 05:00 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts