Welcome to the Rpoints Forums.
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 39
  1. #1
    Expert _ST_
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    4,770
    Rep Power
    0
    [D122003]Vostro 200 Base, C2D 4500, 2GB RAM, 320GB HD £235



    Vostro 200 MT

    Base Intel® Core™ 2 Duo E4500 Processor (2.20GHz,800MHz,2MB cache)
    Microsoft Operating System Genuine Windows Vista® Home Basic - English
    Memory 2048MB 667MHz Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM [2x1024]
    Keyboard Dell™ Entry Quietkey USB Keyboard - UK/Irish (QWERTY)
    Monitor Monitor Not included
    Video Card Integrated Intel® Graphic Media Accelerator X3100
    Hard Drive 320GB Dual Hard Drive Non RAID (2x160GB - 7200rpm)
    Mouse Dell 2 Button USB Optical Mouse
    Optical Devices 16x DVD +/- RW Drive
    Sound Cards Integrated 7.1 Channel High Definition Audio
    Microsoft Application Software Microsoft® Works 8.5 - English
    Standard Warranty Base Warranty - 1 Year Business Hardware Support
    Enhanced Service Packs Base Warranty - 1 Year Business Hardware Support
    Dell System Media Kit Resource DVD - (Diagnostics & Drivers)

    £235 delivered.

    To achieve the above price select:

    Base Warranty - 1 Year Business Hardware Support [subtract £92.83]


    X_NOTES:55105

  2. #2
    Expert _ST_
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    4,770
    Rep Power
    0
    Upgrades to consider
    Genuine Windows XP Home Edition is available at no extra cost but I really wouldn't recommend this as this system is well suited to Vista, and Known compatibility issues should hopefully be sorted very soon with the first service pack (currently available as a beta - SEE HERE )

    Dell A225 Speakers add £5.88

    19-in-1 Media Card Reader add £11.75 (added this for 'convenience purchasing' - you may well find this for a little less from a third party)

    Dell™ A525 Speakers with Subwoofer UK/Irish add £23.50

    Get 30% off on 928 printer!
    Dell Photo 928 All in One Printer add £46.88

  3. #3
    Contributor GDB2222
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    889
    Rep Power
    0
    Can I ask a couple of questions:

    1. If I want to add an extra hard disk for RAID1, are the drivers included?

    2. Does anybody know whether there is enough space in the case to add a silent graphics card, like this one: http://www.ebuyer.com/product/126985 ? These take up quite a bit of space because of the passive heat sink.

  4. #4
    Contributor attackthetoys
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    125
    Rep Power
    0
    Is it likely to be straightforward to use this for broadband internet, I didn't notice any relevant options during customisation and wonder whether this is just because this is targeted at business users.

  5. #5
    Contributor wondermouse
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    London
    Posts
    403
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by attackthetoys
    Is it likely to be straightforward to use this for broadband internet.
    Very simple indeed.

    1. Plug into your broadband router.
    2. Switch on
    3. Er... there is no 3 - that's it!
    Mark P
    BFBS Multimedia the friendly tech radio show. Hear the podcast at bfbs.com/multimedia or via itunes.

  6. #6
    Expert krakan
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Your Mum
    Posts
    3,388
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by GDB2222
    Can I ask a couple of questions:

    1. If I want to add an extra hard disk for RAID1, are the drivers included?

    2. Does anybody know whether there is enough space in the case to add a silent graphics card, like this one: http://www.ebuyer.com/product/126985 ? These take up quite a bit of space because of the passive heat sink.
    1. No, and neither is a RAID controller. You'll be wanting to buy a RAID controller if you do that, though these are fairly inexpensive. It will also mean reinstalling the OS, though..

    2. Judging by the picture I'd say there's a good chance, yes, but there's much more to it than space - a large amount but no airflow + passively cooled components = magic smoke. The inside of Dell PCs tends to be carefully designed for maximum airflow over the installed components - which might mean there's little airflow elsewhere, and your fanless gfx card may not be happy. The solution is, sadly, an extra case fan.

  7. #7
    Contributor GDB2222
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    889
    Rep Power
    0
    On point 1, I thought that Dell do offer RAID1 on this machine. This is one of the options they have:
    320GB Hard Drive with Dell™ DataSafe Local™ Backup solution (2x320GB) - English [add £41.13 or £1/month1]

    Is that not what they mean by Datasafe Local then?

    Edit: I have just checked and they offer Intel Matrix drivers for the Vostro 200. Matrix is the Intel on-board RAID system.

  8. #8
    Expert _ST_
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    4,770
    Rep Power
    0
    The Vostro 200MT is RAID1 ready and complete with drivers.

    With regards to the passively cooled graphics cards heat issues - the 200MT exhausts just above the card so this should be fine. I did notice that GDB's choice appears to have full wrap-around cooling and I cannot find an image of both sides of the card to judge whether or not there will be issues with the motherboards audio block, although it should be fine. I'll post pics of the 200's interior in a mo which may help GDB judge for himself.


  9. #9
    Contributor GDB2222
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    889
    Rep Power
    0
    Thanks for that. The picture is very helpful.

    The heatsink on the back side of the card is pretty massive. When I built a PC for my wife using this card and an Asus p5K motherboard, I had to stick the graphics card in the second PCI-e slot.

    I found the manual online, and it gives complete instructions for adding a second drive into the system and then 'RAIDing' it. As Dell charge over £150 for the second 500GB drive, a DIY solution is obviously going to be a lot cheaper.

    I am not a great fan of Vista, but I don't want to buy XP at this stage either, as Microsoft will probably get Vista working ok eventually. Do you have any idea whether a standard Dell XP disc will simply install on this PC? My preference, in any case, when I get a new Dell, is to delete everything on the hard disk and then start again from scratch with a clean windows install.

  10. #10
    Contributor Anay
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    746
    Rep Power
    0
    is this a better deal then the one from pc world?
    http://www.pcwb.com/catalogue/item/HPPC1194


 
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 20th June 2008, 04:33 PM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 1st November 2007, 08:31 AM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 13th October 2007, 09:54 AM
  4. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 6th August 2007, 04:27 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts